Brunnen Uniplatz

Home > Faculties >

Welcome to the Law Faculty

Welcome to the University of Heidelberg

The Ruperto Carola is Germany's oldest university. It boasts a broad spectrum of different fields and is, with its rich tradition, a living centre for interdisciplinary scholarly discourse.

Since 1386, it had established itself as a centre of high-quality research and teaching. Famous academics, including ten Nobel laureates, have contributed to the university's reputation.

Due to its long tradition and internationality, the University of Heidelberg offers students the ideal conditions for their academic and personal enrichment. Today about 29.000 students are enrolled in its 12 faculties, with 5.200 students coming from abroad. Students from all over the world as well as hundreds of visiting professors and researchers contribute to the Ruperto Carola’s international atmosphere.

International relations are of special importance to the University of Heidelberg. It has exchange programmes with more than 460 universities all over the world and many university partnerships.


Tip: General information about your ERASMUS stay at Heidelberg University, including information about how to find an accommodation and the orientation week at the beginning of the semester, can be found on the internet page of the International Relations OfficeExterner Inhalt

Welcome to the Law Faculty

The Law Faculty has been one of the four cornerstones of the University of Heidelberg. Since its foundation, it has excelled by virtue of its high academic standards. Today it is among the most prominent faculties of law in Germany and well known for its top results all over the world. The faculty puts special emphasis on research on an European and international level.

Intensive International Exchange: ERASMUS Programme

By studying abroad with the ERASMUS programme, students can discover and deepen their knowledge of a new culture and language and thus learn to live and thrive in a foreign country.

The Faculty of Law cooperates with about 49 partner universities in 19 European countries. In the last year, about 500 ERASMUS students were enrolled at the Ruperto Carola, - and more than 50 at the Law Faculty.


Tip: A study visit through the ERASMUS programme requires an existing cooperation agreement between your home university and the Faculty of Law at the University of Heidelberg. Even if there is no such agreement, you can still study at the Ruperto Carola as part of a short-term programmeExterner Inhalt.


After their ERASMUS studies, students may apply for an ERASMUS placement scholarship, which enables them to obtain a grant for 3-6 months' internships closely connected to their university studies.

Offers for Individual Fields of Study

Students choose their fields of emphasis according to their own interests. Before the beginning of the academic year, an individual Learning Agreement is drawn up. This agreement may include lectures in the offered by the Law Faculty as well as lectures from other faculties. The main language of instruction is German.

Students may contact the ERASMUS office for assistance in drawing up their Learning Agreement.

Lectures may be chosen from the following legal fields:

  • European Law
  • International Law
  • Comparative Law
  • Civil Law
  • International Private Law
  • Public Law
  • Environmental Law
  • Tax Law
  • Criminal Law
  • Criminology

The list of coursesis only an example. Of course, the university offers a large number of additional subjects. Please see the Lectures and Courses as well as the Online Course CatalogueExterner Inhalt for further information, from summer semester 2024 in heiCOExterner Inhalt (please see a short instructioin from the Law Faculty here) .

The „Kommentierte Vorlesungsverzeichnis“ (a printed version of the course catalogue with a brief description of the content of lectures) is available in the hallway of office of the dean at the Law Faculty across from the examination office as well as in the reception area of the Law Faculty.

In addition, students can take part in various Moot Courts and competitions.


Tip: In general, it is possible to attend lectures at other faculties of the University of Heidelberg as well as seminars at the Law Faculty of the University of Mannheim. However, please make sure to take note of possible participation requirements, deadlines, the number of ECTS credits and examinations in advance. Please consult with the responsible ERASMUS coordinator and the lecturer at the beginning of the respective course.


Keep in mind: There is also the possibility of an ERASMUS-funded Research Stay to write a Master's thesis or doctoral dissertation.

Introductory Events

For international students, the Ruperto Carola and the Law Faculty offer special introductory courses.

These include, for example:


You can find an overview of the various offers under the headline "Activities for International Students" on the page Lectures and Courses.


Tip: The Law Tandem for international and German law students in Heidelberg offered by the Law Faculty is a good opportunity to get course-related support as well as the possibility for a linguistic and cultural exchange with other law students.


Before and during your stay, there are numerous opportunities to improve your language skills with various Language Courses. Please see the information under the heading Courses in Foreign LanguageExterner Inhalt


Note: Please note that in general courses at the Faculty of Law are held in German. Therefore, German language skills at B1 level are an important prerequisite for a successful ERASMUS stay.

Steps leading up to your ERASMUS stay

If you would like to study at the Law Faculty at the Ruprecht Karls University in Heidelberg within the framework of the ERASMUS programme, you must apply for it with your home university first. This requires an existing corresponding cooperation agreement between the two faculties. If there is no such agreement, there is still the possibility of a short-term studyExterner Inhalt visit outside of the ERASMUS programme. For more information, visit the website Research and other study visits.

After you have successfully applied with your home university and have been selected for an ERASMUS stay at the University of Heidelberg, your home university will nominate you as a participant of the ERASMUS programme to the International Relation Office of Heidelberg University.

Following this, you will receive further information on the procedure and organisation of your ERASMUS stay (the process of enrolment, introductory events, general questions about studying and living in Heidelberg) directly from the International Relation Office.

You can find course-related information on the available lectures and courses, ECTS credits and taking exams, the Learning Agreement, as well as answers to many other questions you might have on this homepage of the ERASMUS departmental coordinator of the Faculty of Law.


Tip: See further information on the various areas of competence and find the correct contact person for your specific question.
Verantwortlich: Erasmus-Team
Letzte Änderung: 2024-05-07
zum Seitenanfang/up